1998-2013   Research group leader, International Institute for Earthquake Prediction Theory and Mathematical Geophysics, Russian Academy of Sciences
1989-1998 Founder and Director, the above Institute
1999-2002 Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences, University of California, Los Angeles (part time)
1985-2013 Founder and co-Director, Research program and Workshop on non-linear dynamics and earthquake prediction, the Abdus Salam International Center for Theoretical Physics, trieste.
1948-1989 Institute of the Physics of the Earth, Ac. Sci. USSR Last position – Founder and Chairman, Department of Computational Geophysics, 1970-1989
1969-1999 Visiting Professor: UCLA, Purdue University, MIT, CIT, Harvard University, Universities of trieste and Rome (La Sapienza), Institute of Earth Physics (Paris), and others.


1969 American Academy of Arts and Sciences
1971 US National Academy of Sciences
1988 Russian Academy of Sciences
1989 Royal Astronomical Society
1992 Austrian Academy of Sciences
1994 Pontifical Academy of Sciences, member of the Council since 1996
1999 Academia Europaea


1995 Doctor Honoris Causa, Institut de Physique du Globe, Paris
1978,1979 Fairchild Distinguished Scholar, California Institute of Technology
1998 Regents Professor, UCLA
1998 Richardson medal for achievements in non-linear dynamics


Mathematical modeling and data interpretation in the study of: Ongoing research:   non-linear dynamics of lithosphere; dynamics of seismicity; earthquake prediction; critical transitions in hierarchical chaotic systems; socio-economic instabilities; pattern recognition of infrequent events.
Previously also:   seismic source mechanism; identification of underground nuclear explosions; nucleation of strong earthquakes; reconstruction of fault systems; probabilistic estimation of seismic risk; earthquake preparedness; seismological inversion; theory of seismic waves; magneto-elastic waves; rocks-fluids interaction.

Major Findings
International projects

1987-1991 President, International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics
1964-1979 Founder and Chairman, International Committee for Geophysical Theory and Computers, later renamed Committee for Mathematical Geophysics
1988-1991 Board Member, International Council of Scientific Unions;
1990-1991 Member of the Union’s Scientific Committee for International Decade for Natural Disasters Reduction.
1992-1997 Member, Scientific Committee, EU International Association for Support of BasicResearch in the Countries of the Former Soviet Union.
1962-1962 Expert, Technical meetings on the nuclear test ban treaty
1997-2013   Member, Russian Ac. Sci. Committee for International Security and Disarmament.
1993-1999 Member, Council of the Russian Foundation for Basic Research.
1994-1997 Member, International Working Group on geological safety of the nuclear waste depositories.


1966-2013   Founder and chief co-editor, Series: Computational Seismology and Geodynamics, published in Russia and USA
Member of other editorial boards.